Astrology Signs Introduction

Astrology Signs Introduction

The Signs of the Zodiac

They are twelve, each containing 30 degrees, thus making 360 degrees, into which every great circle is divided.

The first six are Northern Signs

♈ Aries, ♉ Taurus, ♊ Gemini, ♋ Cancer, ♌ Leo, ♍ Virgo


Southern Signs

♎ Libra, ♏ Scorpio, ♐ Sagittary, ♑ Capricorn, ♒ Aquarius, ♓ Pisces


These signs are divided into,


Northern Signs

♈, ♉, ♊, ♋, ♌, ♍

Southern Signs

♎, ♏, ♐, ♑, ♒, ♓

Tropical Signs

♋, and ♑

Equinoctial Signs

♈, and ♎

Double-bodied Signs

♊, ♍, ♐, ♓


They are again divided into



♈, ♋, ♎, ♑


♊, ♍, ♐, ♓


♉, ♌, vi, ♒


Also into



♈, ♌, ♐.


♉, ♍, ♑.


♊, ♎, ♒.


♋, ♏, ♓.





The first sign, ♈, commences the zodiac, its beginning being that spot in the heavens where the Sun is when crossing the equator in spring; and the latter sign, ♓, finishes the circle of the zodiac, the latter end of it being that spot in the heavens where the Sun is when he has gone his round, and is again about to enter ♈.

By referring to the annexed diagram, the student will perceive, that when the Sun enters ♈ (about the 21st of March) he proceeds northward, and increases in declination until he reaches the tropic of ♋ Cancer (about the 21st of June), when he speedily begins to return to the south; and when he reaches ♎, he again crosses the equator (about the 23d of September), where, having no declination, he causes equal day and night all over the world.

He then declines away to the south; shortening our days in the northern hemisphere, until he reaches the southern tropic ♑, Capricorn; at length he returns towards the equator, and crosses it by entering the sign ♈ (about the 21st of March), where again he has no declination, and gives equal days and nights.